top of page
Search
  • Chloe Campellone

Why is Karate Orange?


"Why is karate Orange?" Or, “Why does the number 10 have a grainy texture?” As a young child, these are the kind of questions I would ask my parents everyday, and receive nothing but puzzled looks from both of them. It wasn’t until my early teen years that I discovered I have a condition called “synesthesia”. Synesthesia is defined as “the production of a sense impression relating to one sense or part of the body by stimulation of another sense or part of the body”. In simpler terms, it means that my visual and auditory senses are combined, and when words are spoken, I see specific colors associated with that word. Thus, words such as “karate” are a vivid orange, and every number has a corresponding color or texture.

Whenever I read articles or hear my peers speak, I see color flow around me. Some words are more beautiful than others, some glitter and shine, while others are dull or ugly. When writing essays I may choose words in a sentence that correlate to the color scheme I am imagining. For example, in the previous sentence I chose the word “correlate” instead of “match” to keep the pink and purple pattern going. In my mind, every word has a different color, and the English language holds a rainbow of possibilities. However, synesthesia varies from person to person. I see the word “gorilla” as a glowing yellow, whereas another might see it as a murky gray. Additionally, some synesthetes have other senses combined, such as hearing and taste. They might hear the word “gorilla” and taste garlic. On the other hand, people without synesthesia experience words in a very functional, almost one-dimensional way, rather than the multi-sensory experience of a synesthete.

Synesthesia has given me the ability to see and understand things from multiple perspectives. We live in a society that has become increasingly divided. Understanding the perspectives of others can help you become a more compassionate and empathetic human being. Seek out opportunities where you can encourage others to look through a different lens. The ability to see things from others’ perspectives is a gift, and we can use this gift to promote tolerance, compassion, and understanding.

bottom of page